Why UF’s Frank Conference is awesome.

 

A few weeks ago, I had the opportunity to volunteer at the Frank Conference and I am glad I did. Nestled in downtown Gainesville’s Hippodrome theater, the event brings together 40 speakers and over 300 attendees for the 3-day event. This experience reaffirmed my desire to pursue my MAMC in Public Interest Communication. What distinguishes this conference from others is that it emphasizes communication that creates positive social change. Top professionals who are making a real difference in their field and society come to present their lessons and message to attendees.

What I found so profound about the conference was how the speakers that presented and the people I met all varied in their field. From what I remember I saw a political consultant, doctoral student, boutique owner, and even a representative from the ACLU (Yes, that’s pretty cool I know).

The event schedule was thought out in the most wonderful and quirky way possible. The Frank lounge was decorated to reflect Alice in Wonderland (super adorable). The evening event consisted of attendees choosing certain pins based on their values before dinner.

2017’s theme was about curiosity with the twitter hashtag #franklycurious. What was so interesting about the theme was how presenters emphasized how integral it was to even spark any type of innovative thinking in society. The speakers showed that more important than asking the right questions is to ignite the desire to ask any question. Perhaps constantly strive to defamiliarize the familiar.

Anyways, I’ll end this post with one of my favorite quotes from the conference:

“Change happens at the speed of trust” – @ToryPerfetti

 

Leave a Reply

